Left Home 1
Left Home 2
Left Home 3
Left Home 4

2008 Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List Released
August 21, 2008 -

The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2008 Fall Watch List. The list includes two finalists from the 2007 Watch List, as well as the 2007 winner of the Rimington Trophy , Arkansas ’ Jonathan Luigs. The Trophy has not had a repeat winner in its history.

In all, there are 43 players on the Watch List. The PAC-10 checks in with the most candidates, with seven players being named.  The Big-12 is represented by six players. The SEC and Big East Conference have five players each on the Watch List.

The following is a list of those named to the 2008 Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List.

Alabama Antoine Caldwell 6'3" 305 Senior
Arizona Blake Kerley 6'2" 285 Junior
Arkansas Jonathan Luigs 6'4" 314 Senior 
Auburn Jason Bosley 6'4" 274 Senior 
Baylor J.D. Walton 6'3" 300 Junior 
California Alex Mack 6'5" 320 Senior 
Central Michigan Colin Miller 6'3" 287 RS Sophomore 
Colorado Daniel Sanders 6'3" 310 Senior 
Connecticut Keith Gray 6'2" 285 Senior 
Florida International Brad Serini 6'3" 300 Sophomore 
Florida State Ryan McMahon 6'3" 275 Sophomore 
Hawaii John Estes 6'3" 295 Junior 
Houston Carl Barnett 6'2" 285 Junior 
Idaho Adam Korby 6'2" 292 Senior 
Illinois Ryan McDonald 6'5" 293 Senior 
Indiana Alex Perry 6'7" 300 Sophomore 
Kansas Ryan Cantrell 6'3" 295 Senior 
Kansas State Jordan Bedore 6'3" 310 Senior 
Louisiana-Lafayette Chris Fisher 6'2" 285 Junior 
Louisville Eric Wood 6'4" 309 Senior 
LSU Brett Helms 6'2" 283 Senior 
Maryland Edwin Williams 6'3" 315 Senior 
Memphis Philip Beliles 6'5" 290 Senior 
Nevada Dominic Green 6'3" 295 Senior 
Ohio State Jim Cordle 6'5" 297 Junior 
Oklahoma Jon Cooper 6'2" 289 Senior 
Oregon Max Unger 6'5" 300 Senior 
Penn State A.Q. Shipley 6'1" 300 Senior 
Rutgers Ryan Blaszczyk 6'4" 295 RS Junior
SMU Mitch Enright 6'1" 266 Junior 
South Florida Jake Griffin 6'4" 295 Senior 
Stanford Alex Fletcher 6'3" 295 Senior 
TCU Blake Schlueter 6'3" 284 Senior 
Temple Alex Derenthal 6'4" 298 RS Senior 
Tennessee Josh McNeil 6'4" 280 Junior 
Texas Chris Hall 6'4" 300 Junior 
Troy Danny Franks 6'3" 290 Junior 
USC Kristopher O'Dowd 6'5" 300 Sophomore 
Utah State Ryan Tonnemacher 6'3" 292 Senior 
UTEP Robby Felix 6'3" 295 Senior
Washington Juan Garcia 6'3" 315 Senior 
Washington State Kenny Alfred 6'2" 300  RS Junior
West Virginia Mike Dent 6'3" 300 Senior

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner:

* American Football Coaches Association

* Walter Camp Foundation

* Sporting News

* Football Writers Association of America

Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place Centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two Centers. Our policy is to count all players that play primarily the Center position for their respective teams as Centers, even though they maybe listed as guards or tackles on the four All American teams.

The Center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the Center with most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner will be honored at Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln , Nebraska , on January 17, 2009.

About the Rimington Trophy

The nine-year old trophy is presented by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Past recipients include Nebraska 's Dominic Raiola, Ohio State 's LeCharles Bentley, Miami 's Brett Romberg, Virginia Tech's Jake Grove, co-winners Michigan 's David Baas and LSU's Ben Wilkerson, Minnesota 's Greg Eslinger, West Virginia 's Dan Mozes, and Arkansas ’ Jonathan Luigs. Since its inception the Rimington Trophy Award has raised over $1.3 million for the award's benefactor, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, which is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation that to date has raised over $65 milllion for CF Research.

Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

The Rimington Trophy is a fully accredited member of the National College Football Awards Association.

Seth Gonzales
Rimington Trophy Media


 Search Archives
Search for:

Browse archives