Left Home 1
Left Home 2
Left Home 3
Left Home 4

2010 Fall Watch List Released
« Back
August 26, 2010 - The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2010 Fall Watch List.

The list includes 16 returning players from the 2009 Watch List. In all, there are 37 players on the Watch List. The ACC and PAC-10 check in with the most candidates, with six players being named from each conference. The Big-12 is represented by five players on the Watch List.

The following is a list of those named to the 2010 Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List.

Chris Anzevino Kent State 6'2" 305 Junior
Tim Barnes Missouri 6'4" 310 Senior
Ryan Bartholemew Syracuse 6'2"; 298 RS Senior
Colin Baxter Arizona 6'4" 295 Senior
Sean Bedford Georgia Tech 6'1" 274 Senior
Chase Beeler Stanford 6'3" 276 Senior
Mario Benavides Louisville 6'4" 312 Sophomore
Joe Bernardi Fresno State 6'2" 285 Senior 
Ben Bojicic Bowling Green 6'4" 294 RS Junior
Mike Brewster Ohio State 6'5" 293 Junior
J.C. Brignone Mississippi State 6'1" 300 Senior
Ben Burkett Northwestern 6'4" 285 Junior
Mike Caputo Nebraska 6'1" 275 Junior
Dalton Freeman Clemson 6'5" 280 Sophomore
Jordan Holmes Oregon 6'5" 294 Senior
Trask Iosefa San Diego State 6'0" 300 Senior 
Ben Jones Georgia 6'3" 300 Junior
Jake Kirkpatrick TCU 6'3" 305 Senior 
Peter Konz Wisconsin 6'5" 313 Sophomore 
Alex Linnenkohl Oregon State 6'2" 303 Senior
Kai Maiava UCLA 6'1" 300 Junior
Ryan McMahon Florida State 6'3" 282 Junior
Colin Miller Central Michigan 6'3" 292 Senior
David Molk Michigan 6'2" 270 Senior
Bryan Morgan Duke 6'3" 255 Senior 
Russell Nenon Wake Forest 6'4" 295 RS Junior
Kristofer O'Dowd USC 6'5" 300 Senior
Brad Paul Memphis 6'5" 290 Senior
Moe Petrus Connecticut 6'2" 292 RS Junior 
Mike Pouncey Florida 6'5" 312 Senior
Ryan Pugh Auburn 6'4" 297 Senior
Lon Roberts Louisiana Tech 6'3" 285 RS Junior
Brad Serini Florida International 6'3" 300 Senior
Keenan Stevens Colorado 6'2" 290 Senior
William Vlachos Alabama 6'1" 296 Junior
Beau Warren Virginia Tech 6'3" 292 RS Senior
Wade Weibert Kansas State 6'4" 303 Senior

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner:

* American Football Coaches Association

* Walter Camp Foundation

* Sporting News

* Football Writers Association of America

Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place Centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two Centers. Our policy is to count all players that play primarily the Center position for their respective teams as Centers, even though they maybe listed as guards or tackles on the four All American teams.

The Center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the Center with most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner will be honored at Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln , Nebraska , on January 15, 2011.

Seth Gonzales
Rimington Trophy Media Relations
C: 917-553-6113

About the Rimington Trophy
The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $1.8 million for its benefactor, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. The eleven-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $80 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit www.rimingtontrophy.com

About the NCFAA
The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website, ncfaa.org.


 Search Archives
Search for:

Browse archives