Left Home 1
Left Home 2
Left Home 3
Left Home 4

2008 Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List Released
« Back
May 7, 2008 - The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2008 Spring Watch List. The list includes two finalists from the 2007 Watch List, as well as the 2007 winner of the Rimington Trophy, Arkansas’ Jonathan Luigs. The Trophy has not had a repeat winner in its history.

In all, there are 44 players on the Watch List. Seven players represent the Big-12 and PAC-10 conferences. The SEC and Big East Conference have five players each on the Watch List.

Listed below are the members of the 2008 Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List.

Alabama Antoine Caldwell 6'3" 292 lbs. Senior
Arizona Blake Kerley 6'2" 285 lbs. Junior
Arkansas Jonathan Luigs 6'4" 314 lbs. Senior
Auburn Jason Bosley 6'2" 281 lbs. Senior
Baylor J.D. Walton 6'3" 302 lbs. Junior
California Alex Mack 6'5" 316 lbs. Senior
Central Michigan Colin Miller 6'3" 280 lbs. Sophomore
Colorado Daniel Sanders 6'3" 325 lbs. Senior
Connecticut Keith Gray 6'2" 287 lbs. RS Senior
Florida International Brad Serini 6'4" 275 lbs. Sophomore
Florida State Ryan McMahon 6'3" 275 lbs. Sophomore
Hawaii John Estes 6'2" 290 lbs. Junior
Houston Carl Barnett 6'3" 285 lbs. Junior
Idaho Adam Korby 6'2" 292 lbs. Junior
Illinois Ryan McDonald 6'5" 293 lbs. Senior
Indiana Alex Perry 6'7" 292 lbs. Sophomore
Kansas Ryan Cantrell 6'3" 295 lbs. Senior
Kansas State Jordan Bedore 6'3" 308 lbs. Senior
Louisiana-Lafayette Chris Fisher 6'2" 280 lbs. Junior
Louisville Eric Wood 6'4" 309 lbs. Senior
LSU Brett Helms 6'2" 283 lbs. Senior
Maryland Edwin Williams 6'2" 315 lbs. Senior
Memphis Philip Beliles 6'5" 270 lbs. Senior
Nevada Dominic Green 6'3" 295 lbs. Senior
Ohio State Jim Cordle 6'4" 297 lbs. Junior
Oklahoma Jon Cooper 6'2" 289 lbs. Senior
Oklahoma State Andrew Lewis 6'5" 290 lbs. Junior
Oregon Max Unger 6'5" 300 lbs. Senior
Penn State A.Q. Shipley 6'1" 293 lbs. Junior
Rutgers Ryan Blaszczyk 6'4" 285 lbs. RS Junior
SMU Mitch Enright 6'2" 275 lbs. Junior
South Florida Jake Griffin 6'4" 307 lbs. Senior
Stanford Alex Fletcher 6'3" 295 lbs. Senior
TCU Blake Schlueter 6'3" 272 lbs. Senior
Temple Alex Derenthal 6'4" 294 lbs. RS Senior
Tennessee Josh McNeil 6'4" 280 lbs. Junior
Texas Chris Hall 6'4" 300 lbs. Junior
Troy Danny Franks 6'3" 308 lbs. Junior
USC Kristopher O'Dowd 6'5" 300 lbs. Sophomore
Utah State Ryan Tonnemacher 6'3" 292 lbs. Senior
UTEP Robby Felix 6'3" 295 lbs. Senior
Washington Juan Garcia 6'3" 315 lbs. Senior
Washington State Kenny Alfred 6'2" 310 lbs. RS Junior
West Virginia Mike Dent 6'3" 300 lbs. Senior

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner:

* American Football Coaches Association

* Walter Camp Foundation

* Sporting News

* Football Writers Association of America

Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place Centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two Centers. Our policy is to count all players that play primarily the Center position for their respective teams as Centers, even though they maybe listed as guards or tackles on the four All American teams.

The Center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the Center with most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner will be honored at Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska, on January 17, 2009.

About the Rimington Trophy

The nine-year old trophy is presented by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Past recipients include Nebraska's Dominic Raiola, Ohio State's LeCharles Bentley, Miami's Brett Romberg, Virginia Tech's Jake Grove, co-winners Michigan's David Baas and LSU's Ben Wilkerson, Minnesota's Greg Eslinger, West Virginia's Dan Mozes, and Arkansas’ Jonathan Luigs. Since its inception the Rimington Trophy Award has raised over $1.3 million for the award's benefactor, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, which is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation that to date has raised over $65 milllion for CF Research.

Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

The Rimington Trophy is a fully accredited member of the National College Football Awards Association.


Seth Gonzales
Rimington Trophy
Phone: 646-292-7946
E-mail: sethbef@yahoo.com


 Search Archives
Search for:

Browse archives