Left Home 1
Left Home 2
Left Home 3
Left Home 4

2009 Spring Watch List Released
May 20, 2009 - The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2009 Spring Watch List.

The list includes 12 returning players from the 2008 Watch List. In all, there are 44 players on the Watch List. The SEC checks in with the most candidates, with six players being named.  The ACC, Big-12, Big Ten and WAC are represented by five players each on the Watch List.

The following is a list of those named to the 2009 Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List.

Eddie Adamski Northern Illinois 6'3" 280 RS Senior
Kenny Alfred Washington State 6'2" 310 RS Senior
Garrett Anderson South Carolina 6'4" 307 Senior
Tim Barnes Missouri 6'4" 305 Junior
Carl Barnett Houston 6'2" 285 RS Senior
Colin Baxter Arizona 6'4" 295 Junior
Joe Bernardi Fresno State 6'3" 290 Junior
Ryan Blaszczyk Rutgers 6'4" 295 Senior 
Ben Bojicic Bowling Green 6'4" 273 RS Sophomore
Mike Brewster Ohio State 6'5" 296 Sophomore
J.C. Brignone Mississippi State 6'2" 300 Junior
Ben Burkett Northwestern 6'4" 280 Sophomore
Thomas Byrd Boise State 5'11" 275 Sophomore
Ronnie Castillo San Jose State 6'0" 292 Senior
Eric Cook New Mexico 6'6" 315 Senior
Lowell Dyer North Carolina 6'4" 290 Senior 
John Estes Hawaii 6'2" 290 Senior 
Chris Fisher Louisiana-Lafayette 6'3" 285 Senior 
Daverin Geralds Mississippi 6'2" 312 Senior
Jorge Gonzalez Kentucky 6'3" 305 Senior 
Chris Hall Texas 6'4" 300 Senior 
Jacob Hickman Nebraska 6'4" 295 Senior
Trask Iosefa San Diego State 6'0" 315 Junior
Ted Larsen North Carolina State 6'2" 295 Senior 
Kevin Matthews Texas A&M 6'4" 297 Senior
Jim McKenzie Syracuse 6'4" 286 Junior
Ryan McMahon Florida State 6'3" 282 RS Junior
Colin Miller Central Michigan 6'3" 291 Junior 
John Moffitt Wisconsin 6'2" 313 Junior
David Molk Michigan 6'2" 383 RS Sophomore
Bryan Morgan Duke 6'3" 250 Junior
Joel Nitchman Michigan State 6'3" 296 Senior
Kristofer O' Dowd USC 6'5" 300 Junior
Maurkice Pouncey Florida 6'5" 318 Junior
Lon Roberts Louisiana Tech 6'3" 277 RS Junior
Jake Seitz UAB 6'2" 290 Senior 
Brad Serini Florida International 6'3" 300 Junior
Matthew Tennant Boston College 6'4" 284 Junior 
Mark Thompson Middle Tennessee 6'5" 302 RS Senior
Bradley Vierling Vanderbilt 6'2" 294 RS Senior
Tim Walter Colorado State 6'6" 290 Senior
J.D. Walton Baylor 6'3" 305 Senior
Dan Wenger Notre Dame 6'4" 302 Senior

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner:

* American Football Coaches Association

* Walter Camp Foundation

* Sporting News

* Football Writers Association of America

Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place Centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two Centers. Our policy is to count all players that play primarily the Center position for their respective teams as Centers, even though they maybe listed as guards or tackles on the four All American teams.

The Center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the Center with most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner will be honored at Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln , Nebraska , on January 17, 2009.

About the Rimington Trophy

The ten-year old trophy is presented by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Past recipients include Nebraska 's Dominic Raiola, Ohio State 's LeCharles Bentley, Miami 's Brett Romberg, Virginia Tech's Jake Grove, co-winners Michigan 's David Baas and LSU's Ben Wilkerson, Minnesota 's Greg Eslinger, West Virginia 's Dan Mozes, Arkansas ’ Jonathan Luigs, and Penn State's A.Q. Shipley. Since its inception the Rimington Trophy Award has raised over $1.3 million for the award's benefactor, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, which is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation that to date has raised over $73 milllion for CF Research.

Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

The Rimington Trophy is a fully accredited member of the National College Football Awards Association.

Seth Gonzales
Rimington Trophy Media


 Search Archives
Search for:

Browse archives