Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month


12/06/2012 9:00 PM -

University of Alabama senior Barrett Jones has been named the recipient of the 2012 Rimington Trophy. He became Alabama’s third finalist for the Rimington Trophy and is now the first center from that school to win the Rimington Trophy.

“I am truly honored to be recognized as the winner of the Rimington Trophy. The job of learning the center position as a senior has been one of the most difficult challenges of my career, but also one of the most enjoyable and rewarding. With that said, this award would not have been possible without all of my teammates, coaches and specifically the rest of our offensive line," Jones said.

The Germantown, Tenn. native has enjoyed a remarkable career with the Crimson Tide, by any standard. A stalwart of the Alabama offensive line since his freshman year, Jones started 49 games and played three different positions, including right guard, left tackle and center. Prior to the 2012 season, Jones played right guard in 2009 and 2010 before moving to left tackle in 2011 and winning the Outland Trophy. He is a three-time All-SEC honoree and has been named a first team All-American by the Football Writers Association of America and

The 2012 season being his first at the center position, Jones graded out an average of 90.8 percent in Alabama’s 12 regular season games. Over the course of 656 plays, he missed only six assignments and did not give up a sack. Jones was awarded the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, given to the SEC’s Lineman of the Year.

Jones, who already has a degree in accounting and touts a 4.0 GPA, also recently became the first Alabama player to receive the William V. Campbell Trophy, recognizing the best scholar-athlete in the nation. He is a member of the 2012 AFCA Good Works Team.

“From day one, Barrett Jones has been an indispensable part of the Alabama Crimson Tide’s offensive line,” said Dave Rimington, president of the Boomer Esiason Foundation. “He has enjoyed outstanding success on the playing field and in the classroom. We are extremely proud to name him the winner of the 2012 Rimington Trophy. Congratulations to Barrett and all the watch list candidates and finalists.”

Jones will be recognized as the recipient of the 2012 Rimington Trophy during pre-game festivities prior to the BCS National Championship Game at Sun Life Stadium in Miami, Florida on January 7, 2013, and then again at the 13th Annual Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Neb. on Saturday, January 12, 2013.

“We are privileged and honored to be working with the Rimington Trophy and the Boomer Esiason Foundation,” said Patrick Vogt, honorary chairman of this year’s presentation and president of the International Division at The Weather Company, parent company of The Weather Channel and “Please join us in congratulating Barrett and supporting this unique award, wonderful cause and efficient charitable organization.”

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $3 million. The thirteen-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website,