Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month


12/27/2012 1:28 PM -

The Rimington Trophy committee is proud to announce the recipients of the 2012 Rimington Award, recognizing the most outstanding centers in the NCAA’s FCS, Division II and Division III, as well as the NAIA. Award recipients were selected by Jason Dannelly, founder of the Victory Sports Network.

Joe Lund of North Dakota State University headlines the 2012 Rimington Award winners as the most outstanding center in the NCAA FCS division. He was selected as a first team All-Missouri Valley Football Conference Player for the 13-1 Bison. With his help on the offensive line NDSU led the conference in scoring, averaging 31.4 points per game and rushing offense with 178 yards per game. The senior from Bloomington, Minn. is also on the MVFC Academic Honor Roll.

Kevin Day of Carson Newman University is the recipient of the NCAA DII Rimington Award. The senior from Soddy-Daisy, Tenn. is a three time All-South Atlantic Conference selection and an anchor to one of the top rushing attacks in DII, averaging 378.6 yards per game last season including 52 rushing touchdowns. Earlier this year, Day earned a spot on the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team.

Curtis James of the University of St. Thomas is the winner of the DIII Rimington Award. James, a consensus All-American last season, has anchored on offensive line that has produced 42 individual 100-yard performances over the last four seasons and a record of 40-5.

Matt Munizzi of Saint Xavier University is the recipient of the NAIA Rimington Award. Munizzi was a first Team All-Mid States Football Association selection in 2012 and a second team selection in 2011. Munizzi helped lead an offense line that was that second in the NAIA for passing offense and eighth in scoring offense. He was also the starting center in 2011 for the Cougars as they won their first National Championship before finishing their season in the NAIA semifinals this year.

The 13th Annual Rimington Trophy Presentation will be held January 12, 2013, at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Neb. The winner of the Rimington Trophy for the NCAA’s FBS division was announced as University of Alabama center Barrett Jones.

Three years after the Boomer Esiason Foundation launched the Rimington Trophy for the outstanding NCAA Division I-A center, it expanded that honor to include Divisions I-AA, II, III, and the NAIA. In 2008, Division I-A was renamed “Football Bowl Subdivision” (FBS), and Division I-AA was renamed “Football Championship Subdivision” (FCS). Recipients are selected by Jason Dannelly, founder and editor of Victory Sports Network, a leading authority on small college football.

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding center in the NCAA's FBS division. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised nearly $3 million. The thirteen-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy, the Rimington Award, and a list of past recipients, visit